PDA

View Full Version : Importing data from Header and table in Word to Excel.

AndersW
03-12-2014, 03:20 PM
I have over 300 word documents with information I would like to import to an excel sheet for statistical use.
The information I need from the Word document is found in the Header of the document and in the table of the document.
I am very new to macro and have only manage to find som scripts that imports the table, but then only from on document.
I could put all the word documents into one folder so that the macro could import all documents from the same location.
I have attached a template of the document template I am using. The areas that are highlighted is the information I need to have over to the excel sheet.
The table can be imported directly, but the information in the Header has to be beside each row from the table in their own column.
When the information has been imported it shall continue with the next word document and insert it bellow the previus imported information in the excel sheet.

AndersW
03-12-2014, 03:21 PM
And here is a picture of how I hope it will look like after importing

westconn1
03-13-2014, 03:08 AM
I could put all the word documents into one folder so that the macro could import all documents from the same location.working on that assumption, you can try like

mypath = "c:\temp\"
Set wd = CreateObject("word.application")
fname = Dir(mypath & "*.doc")
Do While Len(fname) > 0
Set doc = wd.documents.Open(mypath & fname)
st = Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row + 1
With doc.sections(1).headers(1).Range.tables(1)
h1 = Replace(Replace(Replace(.cell(3, 2).Range.Text, Chr(7), ""), Chr(9), ""), Chr(13), "")
h2 = Trim(Replace(Replace(Replace(.cell(5, 2).Range.Text, Chr(7), ""), Chr(9), ""), Chr(13), ""))
h3 = Trim(Replace(Replace(Replace(.cell(7, 2).Range.Text, Chr(7), ""), Chr(9), ""), Chr(13), ""))
h4 = Trim(Replace(Replace(Replace(.cell(7, 4).Range.Text, Chr(7), ""), Chr(9), ""), Chr(13), ""))
End With
With doc.tables(1)