PDA

View Full Version : Automate pasting graphics from Word to Access report?

Deborah
03-18-2014, 09:41 AM
I have an Access database that exports data to Excel, where we have a complex spreadsheet already set up with associated charts. Excel takes the data and does it's thing, then I import the spreadsheets back to Access where I use them with a formatted report and it works beautifully.

My problem is the 3-D bar and 20th Century pie charts we are using. I use the unbound object to pull in a graphic but it look TERRIBLE. Color is often lost, lines are distorted, and shadows show up as dots.

I found that if I link a Word doc to those Excel objects, then copy/paste to Access, they look muchmuchmuch better. So how do I automate this?

I'm a newbie to VBA code so I need more than just a direction here...please help.

Thank you.

jonh
03-19-2014, 02:51 AM
How do you automate what?

Link a word doc to excel how?
Copy what from Word?
Paste it where in Access?

Graphs are vector based; if you resize them they are simply rescaled and redrawn so there is no loss in quality.

If you manually copy a graph from Excel you create a pointer to that graph object in memory.
What happens to it when you paste depends on what type of thing you are pasting into.

For example if you paste it into Word (and presumably in your case, Access) it remains a vector based graph object.

But if you paste into Paint it will be converted into a bitmap, because Paint doesn't do vector graphics and doesn't know what a graph object is.

Bitmap images usually look horrible if you change the colour depth/size/resolution.

If you reduce the size of an image it loses detail. e.g. Lines become jaggy or disappear.
If you increase the size it will become pixelated. e.g. Thin lines become thick and blocky.
If you decrease colour depth, colours are shifted to the nearest match. Often the nearest match isn't near at all and some colours simply disappear.