PDA

View Full Version : Need help with four basic VBA functions

chuchugaga
04-11-2014, 12:44 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie at VBA and I'm trying to get the hang of it. I have to learn how to do the following in preparation of an upcoming exam:

1. Write a function which takes in an input n and outputs the nth odd number

2. Write a function which takes in a number and outputs its factorial

3. Write a macro which takes an input value from cell a1 and changes the font color of column b

4. Write a macro that takes the range values as a string such as "a1:a15" and sums all the values

While I'm pretty comfortable with Excel and recording macros in general, coding in VBA is uncharted territory for me and I'm not sure I understand all the syntax (think they could've made it simpler, to be honest!)
Can anyone help me with the above 4 tasks? It would of course be of no use if I didn't learn from it, so if possible, please take some time out and explain to me why a particular syntax has been used and which piece of code does what. This way, I can try my own hand at it and see how it goes.

Cheers
Usama

Simon Lloyd
04-12-2014, 12:38 AM
IMHO i suggest that you approach your tutor, if you haven't grasped how to do any of the above then you'll not understand any help we provide, your tutor is best placed to help you here as he/she knows the coursework and your individual capabilities. Once you have a better starting knowledge come back to us with your efforts and we'll point you in the right direction but without actually giving you the solution (just as your tutor would do :))

chuchugaga
04-12-2014, 02:14 PM