PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Using Functions in VBA to bring a value to a variable without using the worksheet

Freshpetguy
04-23-2014, 09:34 AM
Good afternoon One and All,

I am relatively new to VBA and I am trying to use the Worksheet function, specifically the index function to look up information in the code and bring back a value. I would love to do this without having to assign it to a cell in the worksheet using R1C1. Is there a way to do Vlookups, or Indexex without having to make assignments in the worksheet?
The examples below works as an equation placed within the sheet, but I'd like to get the same answer without having to use the sheet

ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _
"=VLOOKUP(RC[-1],'U:\Files\Maintenance File.xls'!SKUinfo,16,FALSE)"

ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _
"=INDEX('U:\Files\[Recipe File.xlsx]Fresh 2800'!Fresh2800,2,6)*(INDEX(SchedInfo,MATCH(RC[-3],SKULookup,0),6))"

Any help would be appreciated, this one has me stumped

snb
04-23-2014, 10:59 AM
How could we know the range of 'SKUinfo' ?

sub M_snb()
MsgBox getobject("U:\Files\Maintenance File.xls").sheets("SKUinfo").columns(1).find(activecell.offset(,-1),,,1).offset(,15).value
end sub

Freshpetguy
04-23-2014, 11:09 AM
let me see if I can help a little.
SKUinfo is just a named range, as are the others that are in the equations. I wouldn't think that would be an issue given they now have variables assigned to them. As I look at what you've written I see that you are bringing the answer back to a message box. Can I use a variable name instead...... For example: Batchname. and how would that change the getobject statement? I'm trying to dissect what you're doing in the statement so I understand, and thank you for your patience in explaining in advance.

snb
04-23-2014, 12:38 PM
What is the result if you run/test the code ?

Sub M_snb()
MsgBox getobject("U:\Files\Maintenance File.xls").Range("SKUinfo").columns(1).find(activecell.offset(,-1),,,1).offset(,15).value
End Sub

Freshpetguy