PDA

View Full Version : Word Macro saving doc as PDF

Darth
05-15-2014, 10:26 PM
Hi,

This query is related to word vba and I am fairly new to writing vba macro.

I have a mail merged word document. The code is supposed to save each letter as a separate pdf file with the given name which it picks from the table in the document.
The issue is:
1) It asks for a folder to save the word document.
2) It then saves the word document also
3) It adds an extra page at the end of every document.

I am not sure that in order to save the pdf file, it necessarily have to save a word document. The word document which gets created does not even have the same name as pdf file.

Thanks for your help.

Sub Savepdf()

Dim feedback AsString
Dim firstname AsString
Dim lastname AsString
Dim Docname AsString

Selection.EndKey Unit:=wdStory

Letters = Selection.Information(wdActiveEndSectionNumber)

Selection.HomeKey Unit:=wdStory

Counter = 1

While Counter < Letters

ActiveDocument.Sections.First.Range.Cut

Documents.Add

Selection.Paste

ActiveDocument.Tables(2).Cell(1, 2).Select

firstname = ActiveDocument.Tables(2).Cell(1, 2).Range.Text
firstname = Left(firstname, Len(firstname) - 2)

ActiveDocument.Tables(2).Cell(2, 2).Select

lastname = ActiveDocument.Tables(2).Cell(2, 2).Range.Text
lastname = Left(lastname, Len(lastname) - 2)

Docname = "Feedback" & "_" & firstname & "_" & lastname & ".pdf"

ActiveDocument.ExportAsFixedFormat OutputFileName:=Docname, _
ExportFormat:=wdExportFormatPDF, OpenAfterExport:=False, OptimizeFor:= _
wdExportOptimizeForPrint, Range:=wdExportAllDocument, From:=1, To:=1, _
Item:=wdExportDocumentContent, IncludeDocProps:=True, KeepIRM:=True, _
CreateBookmarks:=wdExportCreateNoBookmarks, DocStructureTags:=True, _
BitmapMissingFonts:=True, UseISO19005_1:=False

ActiveDocument.Close

Counter = Counter + 1

Wend

EndSub

macropod
05-16-2014, 04:23 PM