PDA

View Full Version : Weather Forecast Spreadsheet User Form Help

Inti
07-09-2014, 06:14 AM
Hello all,

I have been working on this spreadsheet for a couple of weeks now. I am completely new to the language and wish to develop my skills. Along with the help of this forum and others I've been able to get to the code that is attached. To this point there are two issues.

The first being that I can't get the delete button to delete the row that corresponds to the item selected in the listbox of the delete tab in the userform. Right now it's deleting everything in the spreadsheet. Second, whenever I try to edit a site in the edit tab I keep getting the error msg created by me which is there to prevent people from leaving a field. empty.

The way that it is supposed to work is the following. I click on the Update Sites button and the userform opens. If I wish to delete an entry I select it in the listbox and then the whole row in the excel spreadsheet "Site List" is deleted, also the entry is removed from the listbox. If the I wish to edit an entry, that being, the name, latitude or longitude, I go into the edit tab, select a site from the combobox and then edit the information as needed. If a field is left empty you get a message saying that you need to fill everything, if the lat or lon are non-numeric you get a message saying so.

Could someone help with these two issues? Any input is appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Bob Phillips
07-09-2014, 06:47 AM
The first problem does not occur for me, it just deletes the one row.

The second problem is because your code is looking at the Add tab textboxes, not the edit tab textboxes. BTW, I would always qualify an object with the property you are after, such as TextBoxEditSiteName.Text, and never rely on the defualt, it will catch you one day.