PDA

View Full Version : can anyone see an isue with this line? object defined error



samuelimtech
07-11-2014, 06:31 AM
Hi all,
this is where im having the issue and im unsure why.

thanks for any help guys!


Sheets("Management").Range(Cells(2, 1), Cells(finalrow, 1)).Select

p45cal
07-11-2014, 06:52 AM
you probably haven't assigned anything to finalrow (make sure the spelling's right).

Paul_Hossler
07-11-2014, 07:32 AM
If there is something valid in finalrow, then you might be not referencing the Management sheet. Some thoughts ...



With Sheets("Management")
.Select
Range(.Cells(2, 1), .Cells(finalrow, 1)).Select
End With




No dot on Range, but dots on .Cells

samuelimtech
07-11-2014, 08:33 AM
Hi thanks for the help but ive suused it, i didnt know the sheet had to be active.

snb
07-11-2014, 08:35 AM
That's the main reason you should refrain form 'select' and 'activate' in VBA

Paul_Hossler
07-12-2014, 05:21 AM
It only has to be active because of the way you were using it


snb is very correct

If for example, you wanted to copy the data to a another sheet



With Sheets("Management")
call Range(.Cells(2, 1), .Cells(finalrow, 1)).Copy (Worksheets ("Summary").Cells(45,1))
End With


That way it doesn't matter (aka "Keeps me out of trouble") which sheet is active, and it doesn't even have to be either of those two

Aflatoon
07-14-2014, 01:15 AM
There should really be a dot in front of Range too. If the code is in the module for a different sheet, you'll get an error otherwise.