PDA

View Full Version : Vlookup through VBA: Dynamic Range

wouldbeca
07-14-2014, 04:15 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am a novice VBA user who gets his work done though knowledge shared by other users. In this case also I had found one good code which suits perfectly to my requirement subject to catch. Here is the code:-

Sub ADDCLM()
On Error Resume Next
Dim Dept_Row As Long
Dim Dept_Clm As Long
Table1 = Sheet1.Range("A3:A13") ' Employee_ID Column from Employee table
Table2 = Sheet1.Range("H3:I13") ' Range of Employee Table 1
Dept_Row = Sheet1.Range("E3").Row ' Change E3 with the cell from where you need to start populating the Department
Dept_Clm = Sheet1.Range("E3").Column
For Each cl In Table1
Sheet1.Cells(Dept_Row, Dept_Clm) = Application.WorksheetFunction.VLookup(cl, Table2, 2, False)
Dept_Row = Dept_Row + 1
Next cl
MsgBox "Done"
End Sub

In the above code, I require excel to use selection of data instead of Sheet1.Range("A3:A13"). For e.g. if select in sheet 2 cells ranging from B5:B15 then excel shoul return desired data in next column to it. I tried few options with my limited knowledge but failed to do so.

Please suggest the code with suitable changes or any other code which i can use to get desired result.

Thanks in advance!!! Cheers!!!

westconn1
07-15-2014, 04:34 AM
to set a range object variable to the selected range
try like
set table1 = selection.range

to put the result in the next column on right, same row
cl.offset(,1) = Application.WorksheetFunction.VLookup(cl, Table2, 2, False)

wouldbeca
07-15-2014, 06:15 AM
I tried code suggested by you but not able to get the desired results. I guess i am making some error in using the correction as advised by you especially in the second part.. Can u make changes in the code itself and post here.

You would be of great help.

to set a range object variable to the selected range
try like
set table1 = selection.range

to put the result in the next column on right, same row