PDA

View Full Version : Various items - exporting to various .txt files where duplicates

superostia
07-20-2014, 03:31 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to the wonderful world of VBA and have been getting stuck in for a week now. I am slightly out of my depth and would appreciate some help.

I'm currently running Excel 2010 and trying to do the following:
1.) Export a selection (fixed width columns J to CP and dynamic range of rows) to .txt files on a row by row basis (part solved, see below)
2.) Move duplicates based on a value in column Q to different .txt files, so that there is only one unique row based on the column Q value in each .txt file.

For part 1, I have found a great add-in that exports my data perfectly, however it requires manual selection of a range via a form, however, I need the tab to be very hidden, thus need this automated to not allow the end user access/view it. As such, I wish to remove the form altogether, and have the form take the values of the range I need to export from a defined range. My current module which defines my range to be exported succesfully:

Sub ExportUKBL()
'use End(xlToLeft) to determine last column with data in row (row number x)
Dim lastColumn As Integer
Worksheets("UKBL").Activate
lastColumn = ActiveSheet.Cells(1, Columns.Count).End(xlToLeft).Column 'row number here

'use End(xlUp) to determine Last Row with Data, in one column (column x)
Dim lastRow As Long
lastRow = ActiveSheet.Range("B" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row 'column letter here

Range(Cells(lastRow, 10), Cells(6, lastColumn)).Select

'STEP TO BE INSERTED TO SAVE TO .TXT

MsgBox "UK BL" & vbCrLf & "-----------------------------------" & vbCrLf & "Exported succesfully.", , "Data Export"
End Sub

Module 1 - For Userform

Option Explicit

Sub MakeFile()

Dim rng As Range
Dim NumR As Long
Dim NumC As Long
Dim CountR As Long
Dim CountC As Long
Dim Delim As String
Dim Qual As String
Dim Leading As Boolean
Dim Trailing As Boolean
Dim TheFile As String
Dim fso As Object