PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Having date "saved" appear in footing

Jimbo
09-05-2005, 02:39 PM
I'm very new to VBA for word and a little familiar with VBA for Excel. I need the "See Spot run" type of explaination. I would like to have the date and time appear in the footing of my Word document when I save any changes that I may make to the document. That will facillitate knowing which printed copy of the document is the latest and greatest. Thank you for any help you may give.
Jim :banghead:

MOS MASTER
09-05-2005, 03:43 PM
Hi & Welcome to VBAX Jim! http://vbaexpress.com/forum/images/smilies/039.gif

Of course there's a method to do this with VBA but there is a very simple method to do this with buildin tools by Word that work reliable too.

Let's first try out that option and tell me later if that works yes or no. (And why not if no)

We'll be using a Autotext entry in the document footer to show the date and time of the last print..ready?:

Open your Word document
Go to View | Header & Footer
Press the fourth button (Switch between Header & Footer) from the right on the Header & Footer toolbar
Now you should be in the Footer of your document
Press the dropdown "Insert Autotext" on the toolbar to expand it.
Choose "Last Printed" from the list.
Now you have something like: "Last printed: 06-09-2005 0:33" in your footer (Or all zero's if the document has never been printed before)

Press the close button on the toolbar to leave the Header Footer view and Save your document.

Now press the printbutton and you'll see that the field in your Footer is updated to the time you pressed the button.

We could add a little macro to save the document if someone pressess the Print button to have a "Point in Time" Save of that event. (Not needed in my opinion but I don't know what your needs are)

I'd say have a go with it and tell me if it suiths your neads?

HTH, http://vbaexpress.com/forum/images/smilies/whistle.gif

TonyJollans
09-05-2005, 03:49 PM
Hi Jimbo,