PDA

View Full Version : Macro/VBA code help

charlie89
08-12-2014, 12:59 AM
Hey,

I am new at coding and VBA is tricky! I have a spreadsheet with a table of data that is filled out everyday at the end of each shift. I want to create a "save and send" button within excel that will save the information as a text file in a chosen location and send the data as an email to the rest of the site or a chosen mailing list. But keeping the general format in the email so its easy to read and find the information..

I've got a few lines done but i am utterly stuck!!

thanks in advance

snb
08-12-2014, 03:08 AM
You might have a look over here:

http://www.snb-vba.eu/VBA_Excelgegevens_mailen_en.html#H2

mancubus
08-12-2014, 05:21 AM
@snb

thanks for the link and for all your tutorials.

i will use it (with a slight modification, though) in my project.

For Each sh In Sheets
c01 = c01 & "<table border=1 bgcolor=#FFFFF0#>"
sn = sh.UsedRange
For j = 1 To UBound(sn)
c01 = c01 & "<tr><td>" & Join(Application.Index(sn, j), "</td><td>") & "</td></tr>"
Next
c01 = c01 & "</table><br><br>"
Next

snb
08-12-2014, 06:18 AM
@Mancubus

You're welcome ;)

mancubus
08-12-2014, 06:54 AM
and i hope new comer OP will find a solution as well. :)

charlie89
08-13-2014, 02:32 AM
thank you, i have edited the code to work for my particular needs. How do I keep the formatting? At the moment the emails are coming out rubbish and really hard to read!

Also, how would I edit the code so the date is automatically updated in the subject field of the email?

I know i'm asking alot, but thank you in advance!!

mancubus
08-13-2014, 05:29 AM
can you post a sample workbook and screenshot of a sample email.

charlie89
08-13-2014, 05:38 AM
I have managed to get the code to copy the content and format of what is in excel. Happy!

BUT now my command button doesn't work. Where on the code can i put the macro for the command button to send email...?? Not happy!