PDA

View Full Version : Quick question about my code that creates a 2D array

spencer92291
08-13-2014, 11:31 AM
First of all, I am very new with coding and VBA is my first language. I have been teaching it to myself for 3 weeks now. I have a question in regards to the code below. In the part that says "Dim curShippingCharges(5, 9) as currency," does this mean that 6 columns and 10 rows are in the array, or that 6 arrays with 10 elements each are being created. If neither, what does the "5" and the "9" represent? Additionally, for "curShippingCharges(iCounter1, iCounter2) = ActiveCell.Offset(iCounter2, iCounter1).value", can you explain what the "iCounter1" and "iCounter2" mean exactly after "curShippingCharges", and also, what the "iCounter2" and the iCounter1" mean after "activecell.offset." I want to know intuitively the reasoning for all of this. At first I thought that the counters after "activecell.offset" corresponded to columns and then rows, but my friend just told me I could switch the code up to make it "rows then columns", which I don't get. If someone could just explain the two lines of code so I can understand it perfectly it would be greatly appreciated.

Sub TwoDimensionAray()
Dim curShippingCharges(5, 9) As Currency
Dim iCounter1 As Integer, iCounter2 As Integer
Worksheets("Practice").Activate
Range("G17").Activate
For iCounter1 = 0 To 5
For iCounter2 = 0 To 9
curShippingCharges(iCounter1, iCounter2) = ActiveCell.Offset(iCounter2, iCounter1).value
Next iCounter2
Next iCounter1
For iCounter1 = 0 To 5
For iCounter2 = 0 To 9
MsgBox (curShippingCharges(iCounter1, iCounter2))
Next iCounter2
Next iCounter1
End Sub

Paul_Hossler
08-13-2014, 12:45 PM
Welcome to the Forum

Some comments that I hope answer your questions

'always a good idea since it means you MUST dim all valiables - check Help
Option Explicit

Sub TwoDimensionAray()
'6 rows and 10 columns 0-6 and 0 - 10
'you could use Dim curShippingCharges(1 to 5, 1 to 9) As Currency