PDA

View Full Version : Do Until loop vs array

kualjo
08-26-2014, 10:50 AM
Usually, when I have something I need done in a column, such as in the following code that checks for blanks and/or invalid entries, I have always done a Do Until loop, where I tell it to run until there is a blank cell in an adjacent column (which has already been checked for blanks). I've seen code written by others that would do the same thing, but as an array. My way works just fine, and I get the results I want, but I'm curious as to whether doing it as an array would be a better approach. Maybe it's just a matter of personal preference, but since I'm self-taught and therefore not so great with VBA, I always wonder how the real pros would do the same thing.

Range("A2").Select
Do Until ActiveCell.Offset(0, -1).Value = ""
If ActiveCell.Value = "" Then
ActiveCell.Value = "[desired text or value]"
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Activate
Else
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Activate
End If
Loop

What would this code look like if I wrote it to run the column as an array, knowing that some cells could be blank?

Bob Phillips
08-26-2014, 12:10 PM
That cannot work, you start at A2 and then try to offset 1 column to the left, there are no columns to the left.

Assuming you mean columns A & B, then I wouldn't use a loop or a array

Dim rng As Range
Dim lastrow As Long

With ActiveSheet

lastrow = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
Set rng = .Range("B2").Resize(lastrow - 1).SpecialCells(xlCellTypeBlanks)
If Not rng Is Nothing Then rng.Value = "[desired text or value]"
End With

snb
08-26-2014, 12:59 PM
I all depends on your goal
I prefer the use of arrays because you can reduce the amount of interaction with the worksheet and conseuently speeding up your code.

You can use:

sn=sheet1.usedrange.rows(1)
or
sn=sheet1.cells(1).currentregion.rows(1)
or
sn=sheet1.rows(1).specialcells(2)
or
sn=sheet1.cells(1).resize(,sheet1.cells(1,columns.count).end(xltoleft).colu mn)