PDA

View Full Version : Replace content of column

JohnBradley
08-31-2014, 11:42 AM
Hi,

Thanks if someone could help me with following, I am new in VBA -

1. VBA code for replacing some content of column of the excel cell with other content
(not find and replace, but replace the existing content of specific cells for example A1:A10 with something specific for example "my name")

2. VBA code - I have a column with numbers (B1:B10) and I want to multiple each cell by *1.32 and replace these numbers with existing (it's euro to dollar calculation).
I mean that instead of value numbers of euro will be now numbers of dollars.

Thanks!

John.

mancubus
08-31-2014, 01:09 PM
welcome to vbax.

try this. change worksheet name to suit.

With Worksheets("Sheet1")
.Range("A1:A10").Value = "My Name"
.Range("B1:B10").Value = Evaluate(Range("B1:B10").Address & "*1.32")
End With

SamT
08-31-2014, 02:36 PM
John,

Welcome to VBAX, IMO the best VBA site in the world.

I imagine that you would like to be able to run those Procedures on many workbooks. I also think that you want to be able to invoke them with Hot-Key shortcuts.

In order to use the procedures on many workbooks, they must be stored in the Personal.xls|xlsm workbook. I don't know what version of Excel you are using. The easiest way to do so, and create Personal.xls, if you haven't already, is to record a macro and tell the recorder to store it in the Personal Macro workbook.

Before you do this for the first time, decide what Hot-Key combo you want to use for, say, the Replace Procedure, (Example: Ctrl+M for MyName,) and the name of the Procedure, (For Example: "InsertMyName".) Do not use c,d,r,x,v, or z, as Hot-Keys, because those are the most often used shortcuts in excel.