PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Beginner's attempt at VBA!! Not sure what is going on!!

j6g
09-21-2014, 02:22 PM
Hello Team,
Greetings!! This is my first attempt at VBA!! I am reading Excel 2007 VBA Programming for Dummies by Mr. John Walkenbach. Excellent read for a complete novice like me!!

However, I am trying to figure out exactly what is going on the with the code below. Just wanted to write a basic VBA code to make sure that I am understanding what I am reading!!

When I am typing the following code the error pops out as follows:

Sub myfirstmac()
Application.Workbooks("Book1.xls").Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value
End Sub

The corresponding error:

Run-time error '438' Object doesn't support this property or method!!

However, when I am modifying the code above with the one maintained below, the code just runs perfectly!!

Sub myfirstmac()
x = Application.Workbooks("Book1.xls").Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value
MsgBox x
End Sub

Can some one help me as to why is this happening?? Why am I getting the run time error, in the first case??

Any help, will be highly appreciated!!
Regards,
Jai

Kenneth Hobs
09-21-2014, 03:59 PM
Welcome to the forum!

The first is reading or getting the value. That is fine for a MsgBox. The 2nd is assigning a read value to a string for use in a MsgBox. I recommend doing it like this:

Option Explicit

Sub myfirstmac()
Dim x As String
'x = Application.Workbooks("Book1.xls").Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value
x = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value
MsgBox x
End Sub