PDA

View Full Version : Access VBA - Generating Email attaching multiple reports combined into 1 PDF

Jesse
09-28-2014, 11:15 AM
Hi Folks,

Disclaimer - I'm no expert in VBA nor Access so please excuse my ignorance and lack of proper coding terms.

Overview - I have a DB that creates a set of reports for an individual user, generates an email, and attaches a combined pdf with a summary of reports for that user. I have two users groups: Individual employees, and managers. For individual employees, my "combinePDF" code works to combine multiple reports into one attachment. As a new requirement, I'm looking to add the same functionality for all manager reports (2).

How it works(or supposed to)

pass three variables into the "combinePDF" function: Report to be sent, userID, and directory
Create individual objects for each applicable PDF report
Logic to evaluate which report is coming in: Employee reports OR Manager Reports
Create directory and destination to store PDF's reports, confirm the report should exist, output relevant reports to destination
The combined report is picked up from the destination with an email function and sent to the user

Problem - When re-creating the code to combine the manager reports into one PDF and store them in the destination folder for email extraction; the second report is not being sent. When checking if my report should exist(see snippet below) by running a query against my db, the line in red behaves different than expected. Specifically,instead of connecting to the DB , running the select statement, and moving to the next IF statement, it skips to a different step in another function and does not complete the "CombinePDF" function. Totally confused as to why since the individual report uses the same logic but does not have this issue.

Code Snippet
strSql = "SELECT * FROM qry_ManagerDirectsDevicesFiltered WHERE [ManagerID] = '" & sourceUserID & "';"
Set rs = db.OpenRecordset(strSql, dbOpenSnapshot, dbReadOnly)