PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Coordinate based query and data copy/paste/clear

mrmattmc
11-18-2014, 10:50 PM
I am just getting into this idea so really my question to everyone is what type of function or combination of functions would best achieve what I am looking to do.

I have a workbook with a summary sheet. This sheet summarizes the data found on three other sheets of data.

What I would like to implement is this. If I click on a date (say date2) in the left column the function would check each non hidden cell in that row and would return the three rows of data for name 1, the 4 rows of data for name 2 and so on. I have a few other criteria that are cell targets on the summary sheet I would like to add to the date and name to make it a 4, maybe 6 criteria query and would also like to be able to specify where the data is written to.. sheet name, column and row. I can work out the "return button" to clear the data once the user wants to return the summary view.

A variant of the above idea would be if the name was clicked on then the function would query down the column returning the same unique results like above

Lastly, If the user was just to click on the 4 for name2 date2 it would return the 4 rows of data this is referring to.

I'm really new to VBA and have been making great strides in the few weeks I have been doing this but I just don't know where to start with this one.

p45cal
11-19-2014, 03:21 AM
This sounds very complicated!
It's certainly possible but it would be hard work and probably very convoluted, and probably quite flaky.
My thoughts are that the data you want to summarise could either be queried directly with a pivot table, or the data could be (copied and) re-arranged first (with or without a macro) so that a suitable pivot table could be created.
The result you want looks very much like it could be produced by a pivot table.
I feel such a solution would be simpler and more robust.