PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Function that finds number of Fridays in a particular interval date

birdman300
12-30-2014, 05:29 PM
Hi everyone,

Here is the info the parent thread instructed me to provide.

1. Version of the program

Office 2010

2. What you want it to do

I am trying to write a function that finds the number of Fridays from 1 Jan 2001 to 31 Dec 3000

3. Cell references, bookmark names, column letters, row numbers, worksheets, styles, whatever pertains to the information at hand

I am still fairly new to VBA, so I am not trying to insert it into an Excel workbook or anything like that but just to get better at programming / VBA in general

4. Error messages if any

Just need more help in finishing what little code I have.

5. If not the entire code, then at least some of it

Public Function getFridays() As Long

'not sure what other variables I need but maybe one to hold the sum of fridays and a counter of some kind
Dim lngStartDate As Long
Dim lngEndDate As Long

lngStartDate = #1 Jan 2001#
lngEndDate = #31 Dec 3000#

'Do the built in date functions factor in leap years? If not, how do I check for them?
'I am pretty sure I need a loop to iterate through the dates but not sure how to start it

End Function

6. Sample data (before and after sample worksheets, add as attachments here)

Not applicable

7. Politeness and gratitude :)

Thank you in advance! Still new to all of this but slowly getting better

8. Mark your thread solved, when it has been, by hitting the Thread Tools dropdown at the top of the thread.

Of course

SamT
12-30-2014, 07:35 PM
Welcome to VBA Express, Birdman.

You will need an Office application to write your code in. IMO, Excel is the easiest for beginners. Open Excel and Right Click the mouse on one of the Sheet tabs. Select "View Code." This opens the VB Editor or VBE. First, lets customize the VBE for you. You can also press Alt+F11.