PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Getting started with VBA in Powerpoint - editing existing text on slides

cejhoney
01-08-2015, 09:27 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started with VBA in Powerpoint, after many years of using/editing VBA in Excel.
I was hoping that I could record a macro to get started, but have been disappointed to discover this facility is not available in Powerpoint.

Therefore, could I please ask for some help getting started - these are the initial things I'd like to do:

On opening file, ask for a date (eg 08 January 2015)
Insert date value on slide 1 (TitleSlideLayout, in subtitle placeholder)
:idea: Can I use 'fields' to mark the place I want the text, and assign the value entered as the value of the field? I think I've done this in Word before...
Using entered date, calculate ppt report dates which are a 12 month period of completed months (eg January 2014 - December 2015)
Using my previous VBA knowledge, I should be able to do this successfully.
Insert this text in headers on various slides, overwriting previous text. THIS WOULD NOT BE THE ONLY TEXT IN THE HEADERS.
:idea: Again, can I use fields to mark the place I want this text to make replacing previous text simpler?

Ultimately, I want to copy a load of data / graphs from Excel to populate the presentation, but I can see there are other questions/answers on here to help me with that so I'll read those first.

Thanks for any help you can give me to get started.
By the way, I'm using PowerPoint 2013.

Claire

John Wilson
01-10-2015, 08:28 AM
Claire

Sadly you are going to be disappointed.

PPT vba is much more restrictive than Word or Excel and in particular there are no events easily available like Workbook_Open and Fields are not supported.

If you are opening the file in edit view you might want to look at our workaround here. (http://www.pptalchemy.co.uk/PowerPoint_Auto_Open_Code.html)

Paul_Hossler
01-10-2015, 06:20 PM