PDA

View Full Version : SPLITING A COLUMN OF DATA CLASSIFIED BY 2 VARIABLES INTO A 2 VARIABLE MATRIX

lmcmanus
02-05-2015, 10:59 AM
Hi,

I am summarizing data generated by GIS. For each country (total of 148 countries), I have 8 variables that are classified by elevation (9 classes) and by distance from shore (9 classes). The data output is shown by the BEFORE worksheet.

I wish to split the column of variable data into matrix form where the columns are the 9 distance classes, and the rows are the 9 elevation classes, for each of the 8 variables.

I would greatly appreciate getting a VBA code to do the matrix transposition. I am new to VBA. I have an excel calculation template to do the summaries thereafter.

Your help is greatly appreciated and will try to learn basic VBA coding to be more efficient.

Many thanks,

Liana

Paul_Hossler
02-05-2015, 12:13 PM
It's easy enough to do with a pivot table (attached) either each country x variables (148 x 8) or if the 148 countries in in a single list or a combination

I've found it works better if all the countries are in a single list

After you have your 148x8 = 1,184 matrices, what do you do with them and how do you do it?

BTW, the title "SPLITTING A COLUMN OF DATA CLASSIFIED BY 2 VARIABLES INTO A 2 VARIABLE MATRIX" doesn't seem to be in agreement with the question in the text

lmcmanus
02-05-2015, 12:48 PM
It's easy enough to do with a pivot table (attached) either each country x variables (148 x 8) or if the 148 countries in in a single list or a combination

I've found it works better if all the countries are in a single list

After you have your 148x8 = 1,184 matrices, what do you do with them and how do you do it?

BTW, the title "SPLITTING A COLUMN OF DATA CLASSIFIED BY 2 VARIABLES INTO A 2 VARIABLE MATRIX" doesn't seem to be in agreement with the question in the text