PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Linear interpolation using VBA for empty cells in a row

LauraF
02-19-2015, 07:32 AM
Hello,

I would like to know if somebody can help me to build a macro on the attached file .
I created an excel function (rows PupilLeft_interpolation and PupilRight_interpolation) to calculate linear interpolation in order to estimate the missing data (empty cells in the rows PupilLeft and PupilRight), taking into account the known values. The function works but the problem is that when I wanted to copy to the rest of the cells, the file becomes very “heavy” (I normally have 130000 cells to copy the function). I’m really new with this so I would need some help to build the code using VBA.
I’d really appreciate if someone could help me!
Thanks in advance,12873

MINCUS1308
02-19-2015, 01:56 PM
Thats one heck of a formula you've written out there.
Lets walk through this file so I understand whats happening.

you have the name and the date and a time stamp.
you break the time stamp down into the components

and then the important parts...
studioevent & studioeventdata ?? i don't actually know what those are for
missing left & right columns are a Boolean check that identify missing pupilleft/right data?

what exactly are the pupilleft & right interpolation columns doing?
if the name isnt blank and
if the pupilleft/right isnt a number
then
a really long formula looksup/matches/indexes its way to the answer?

i see that this data spans the gap of about 2 seconds and produced 420 ish lines of data.
perhaps a macro that stepped through each line and preformed the calculations would "lighten" your file.

if you can walk me through what needs to happen and not how you are calculating it I can try to assist you with a macro.

MINCUS1308
02-19-2015, 02:28 PM
If I'm correct this basically boils down to

(A+B)*(C-D)]/(E-F)

RP - RightPupil
T - Time (ms)

(RP+(T-T)) * (RP-RP)] / (T-T)

MINCUS1308
02-19-2015, 02:43 PM
Above is the equation for linear interpolation.