PDA

View Full Version : Better Code

ljolivo
03-04-2015, 06:10 AM
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to vba, so as I go, I'd like to improve how I write code. I created some VBA code to read all of the records in two different tables within an Access database and return all values within a specified field in each table. It works fine, but how can I improve this code?

Function GetPanlList() As String()
Dim sqlString() As String
Dim sqlFieldName() As String
Dim sqlTableName() As String
Dim RecSetEnd As Long
Dim RecSetCnt As Long
Dim SendPanlArr() As String
Dim i As Long
ReDim sqlString(1)
ReDim sqlFieldName(1)
ReDim sqlTableName(1)

SetDBConnection ("FRB_EVR_Database.mdb") 'connects to database
Set RecSet = Nothing
sqlTableName(0) = "Panel Board"
sqlFieldName(0) = "PanelID"
sqlTableName(1) = "Sub - Panel Board"
sqlFieldName(1) = "SubPanelID"
RecSetEnd = 0
RecSetCnt = 0
i = 0
CadInputQueue.SendCommand "choose none" 'application specific
CommandState.StartDefaultCommand 'application specific
For i = 0 To 1
sqlString(i) = "SELECT DISTINCT " & sqlFieldName(i) & " FROM [" & sqlTableName(i) & "] WHERE " & sqlFieldName(i) & " Is Not Null ORDER BY " & sqlFieldName(i) & ";"
RecSet.Open sqlString(i), myDB, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic

'get and set upper limit of array
RecSet.MoveLast
RecSetEnd = RecSetEnd + RecSet.RecordCount
RecSet.MoveFirst
ReDim Preserve SendPanlArr(RecSetEnd)

'Create list from Panel and Sub - Panel Tables
RecSet.MoveFirst
Do
SendPanlArr(RecSetCnt) = RecSet.Fields(sqlFieldName(i))
RecSet.MoveNext
RecSetCnt = RecSetCnt + 1
Loop Until RecSet.EOF
RecSet.Close
Next i
myDB.Close 'public constant declared elsewhere
Set RecSet = Nothing
Set myDB = Nothing
GetPanlList = QuickSort(SendPanlArr, LBound(SendPanlArr), UBound(SendPanlArr)) 'sort the array and end function
End Function

jonh
03-04-2015, 08:18 AM
Hello.

Not bad! As you are learning do whatever you like and have fun! :)

A couple of things stand out.