PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] How do I automate color coding the highest performers on a chart?

worthm
03-19-2015, 03:42 PM
Hello,
I use Office 2010 and I've attached the spreadsheet. It should open on the tab "CSR claims area". I update these charts daily and I use green bars for everyone for the chart bars and blue for the top three performers. How can I make it so that it automatically changes the colors to blue for the highest ranked team mates and leaves the rest of the bars green as the data changes? This most likely requires a piece of VB code but I'm not a programmer. I can copy and paste though

Thanks in advance

apo
03-19-2015, 10:37 PM
Hi.. try this..

If you change a value with the range(D5:P18).. your 2 charts will automatically update there bar colors accordingly.

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim ch, x, xx, i As Long, ii As Long, j As Long
If Not Intersect(Target, Range("D5:P18")) Is Nothing Then
Application.EnableEvents = False
ch = Array("Chart 2", "Chart 3")
For i = 0 To 1
x = Sheets("CSR claims area").ChartObjects(ch(i)).Chart.SeriesCollection(1).Values
With CreateObject("system.collections.arraylist")
For j = 1 To UBound(x)
.Add x(j)
Next j
.Sort: .Reverse
xx = .toarray()
End With
For ii = LBound(x) To UBound(x)
If x(ii) < xx(2) Then
Sheets("CSR claims area").ChartObjects(ch(i)).Chart.SeriesCollection(1).Points(ii).Interior.Color = RGB(0, 255, 0)
Else
Sheets("CSR claims area").ChartObjects(ch(i)).Chart.SeriesCollection(1).Points(ii).Interior.Color = RGB(0, 204, 255)
End If
Next ii
Next i
Application.EnableEvents = True
End If
End Sub

worthm
03-20-2015, 08:34 AM
Hello and thank you. Ive plugged your piece of code into the section for that tab but the color didn't change when I added more to a given employee's stats. The chart updated but that's an Excel function. I don't know why your code didn't work. Ive been manually editing the colors. Do I need to set them all to green for it to work?

apo
03-20-2015, 12:23 PM