View Full Version : Append Query and search for duplicates
Pancakes1032
03-23-2015, 05:17 PM
Hello,
I created an Append Query to add data to an existing on-going table. I don't mind if duplicates are added to this table, I was just wondering if there was a way to add a macro or some type of VBA to search after the new data is pasted on the existing table for any duplicates of a specific field and find the data of the corresponding field that has the employee name attached to that assignment.
Again I don't mind the duplicates because sometimes a task for one assignment may be on different reports that are being combined by this Append Query, but I do need to know which worker has already been assigned this task.
Not sure if this is possible, any ideas would help.
Thank you!
Add the fields you want to check for duplicates to a query and turn on totals.
Add a new field 'Dups: 1' and change its Total from 'Group By' to 'Count'.
select employee, fieldX, count(1) as Dups from table1
group by employee, fieldX
HiTechCoach
03-25-2015, 10:25 AM
Hello,
I created an Append Query to add data to an existing on-going table. I don't mind if duplicates are added to this table, I was just wondering if there was a way to add a macro or some type of VBA to search after the new data is pasted on the existing table for any duplicates of a specific field and find the data of the corresponding field that has the employee name attached to that assignment.
Again I don't mind the duplicates because sometimes a task for one assignment may be on different reports that are being combined by this Append Query, but I do need to know which worker has already been assigned this task.
Not sure if this is possible, any ideas would help.
Thank you!
Access has a built-in Query wizard for find duplicates. Give that a try.
Pancakes1032
04-01-2015, 05:20 PM
I have used the wizard, my only issue is that is pulling all the duplicates and not leaving one record there and because I intend to eventually delete the duplicates I need at least one of the duplicate records to stay. This one is pulling all the data pretty much.
Here's the SQL code:
SELECT CFRRR.[caseid], CFRRR.[status], CFRRR.[CFRRRID], CFRRR.[WorkerID], CFRRR.[Workeremail], CFRRR.[Workername], CFRRR.[Dateassigned], CFRRR.[assignedby], CFRRR.[assignedto], CFRRR.[RRRmonth], CFRRR.[Scheduleddate], CFRRR.[scheduledtime], CFRRR.[type], CFRRR.[ScheduledType], CFRRR.[language], CFRRR.[lastname], CFRRR.[firstname], CFRRR.[Checked in (Y/N)], CFRRR.[Qmaticid], CFRRR.[CompletedType], CFRRR.[actiondate], CFRRR.[verifyduedate]
FROM CFRRR
WHERE (((CFRRR.[caseid]) In (SELECT [caseid] FROM [CFRRR] As Tmp GROUP BY [caseid],[status] HAVING Count(*)>1 And [status] = [CFRRR].[status])))
ORDER BY CFRRR.[caseid], CFRRR.[status];
HiTechCoach
04-01-2015, 11:56 PM
You can use a subquery to do what you want.
See Subquery basics here http://allenbrowne.com/subquery-01.html
Scroll down to: Delete duplicate records
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.