PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: VBA Function to total expense

thepr1nter
09-16-2005, 12:29 PM
Here's a challenge for you.

I started using the following formula to total expense in two different worksheets based on values in certain fields but things got out of hand when I had too many criteria to test for:

=SUM(IF((?NPS Detail '!$B$19:$B$1000=$C4)*(('NPS Detail'!$P$19:$P$1000="22c")+('NPS Detail'!$P$19:$P$1000="25c")),'NPS Detail'!$V$19:$V$1000,0))+SUM(IF(('P-Card '!$B$9:$B$710=$C4)*(('P-Card '!$I$9:$I$710="22c")+('P-Card '!$I$9:$I$710="25c")),'P-Card '!$N$9:$N$710,0))

( this formula is entered using the {CTRL + Shift + CR} )

So I graduated to this next formula which was easier in some ways but it's not transportable to a new workbook (as the last one was not either):

=DSUM('NPS Detail'!$A$19:$W$1000,"Exp.",Criteria!$A$2:$P$36)+DSUM('P-Card '!$A$9:$W$710,"Exp.",Criteria!$AA$2:$AO$36)

This one is a simpler but the criteria list gets out of hand and when I transport it to a new workbook it carries all the references to the original workbook with it.

So my idea is to create a function that I believe would copy to another workbook with ease. But I'm having trouble figuring out how to read through the rows of the worksheet and compare particular fields with criteria to determine if I need to add that row to the sum. I also tried to use the DSUM function in my UDF with no success.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction?

malik641
09-16-2005, 01:05 PM
You don't think you could post a workbook do you??

And Welcome to VBA Express! :hi:

thepr1nter
09-19-2005, 06:17 AM
Well . . . guess I could. It was rather large so I eliminated a bunch of stuff and put in data that is only for example. But the structure of the sheet is sound and it will give you the idea of whats going on.