PDA

View Full Version : Script to extract all text from MS WORD Documents into Excel

yashikor
04-21-2015, 04:04 PM
Total newbie here. I need to extract all text from MS Word documents into Excel. Ideally, I would like to populate the text into columns within Excel. Although this might be difficult. We have product specs that will eventually go into another system. If I can just get the text from each document, I can massage it later in Excel.

Many many thanks for your help.

yashikor
04-27-2015, 07:18 AM
Anyone?

gmayor
04-27-2015, 07:41 AM
You will have to explain the problem in more detail. What is in the documents; where in Excel do you want it to be inserted? Word and Excel are entirely different applications.

yashikor
04-27-2015, 08:57 AM
You will have to explain the problem in more detail. What is in the documents; where in Excel do you want it to be inserted? Word and Excel are entirely different applications.

Thank you for replying. I have attached an image of one of the word documents. Basically I want to extract all of the text from the word documents and populate an excel sheet. I don't need any special formatting, etc. Would be nice if I could put the text in specific columns, i.e., "Product Name" within a Product Name column.

The data in the Excel sheet will be dumped into another application down the road.

gmayor
04-27-2015, 09:42 PM
It will be no mean feat to produce a process to extract that document into separate cells in Excel and I can see a few issues that might be difficult to resolve. It would also rely on all the documents to be processed being identically formatted. I doubt you will find anyone willing to put in that amount of work for free. The general principles involved are covered at - http://www.gmayor.com/extract_data_from_email.htm (e-mail messages are essentially documents as far as VBA is concerned). If you want to discuss it further, contact me via my web site.

yashikor
04-28-2015, 01:25 PM