PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Saving a doc as read only and removing all code!?

Simon Lloyd
09-17-2005, 03:28 PM
Hiya all,

I'm fairly new to VBA and very new here i have done some excel vba (limited) i have a word document (currently saved as .dot) and when it is closed i would like it to save as "mydocument - 17092005".doc where the number is the date in ddmmyyyy format and vbreadonly i would also like all the code to be disabled in the doc so the read only does not make another copy of itself when opened and closed, the doc will be used by people on a network but a simple SaveAs will save it in My Documents on their desktop so they can mail the read only file to others.

Is there a way to do this?.......hope so!

All suggestions welcome.

Regards,

Simon.

MWE
09-17-2005, 03:58 PM
Hiya all,

I'm fairly new to VBA and very new here i have done some excel vba (limited) i have a word document (currently saved as .dot) and when it is closed i would like it to save as "mydocument - 17092005".doc where the number is the date in ddmmyyyy format and vbreadonly i would also like all the code to be disabled in the doc so the read only does not make another copy of itself when opened and closed, the doc will be used by people on a network but a simple SaveAs will save it in My Documents on their desktop so they can mail the read only file to others.

Is there a way to do this?.......hope so!

All suggestions welcome.

Regards,

Simon.
Simon, welcome to the VBAX forum.

The initial "saveas" with the name you want will create a new file with the original left alone. Do you want to disable the VBA code in the new .doc file or do you want to remove the VBA code? If you just disable it, it could be enabled by some future owner.

Simon Lloyd
09-17-2005, 04:01 PM
I would like to remove the code as it will never be needed in the read only copy, and you are correct in thinking i want the original left in tact so the original stays .dot and the readonly copy is .doc.