PDA

View Full Version : Please help how to calculate order detail

tonysi
04-28-2015, 02:10 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am sorry if my post has been cover so many times. I am new with access and still learning and also my English is not that good. I really appreciate for helping me with my problem.

The problem that I am having is how to recalculate all order detail item. Sorry not sure how to explain
FORM
Main form = Tblorder : orderID, CustumerID, TotalSquare
Sub form = TblOrderdetail : orderdetailID, OrderID, itemname, unitprice, total

Example: if I set up the totalsquare FIRST = 10 and I select the the itemname, it will calculate the total = unitprice * totalsquare this work fine.

The problem:
I have 20 item in sub form orderdetail and every item was calculate based on totalsquare = 10. For some reason, I have to change the totalsquare = 20.
How do I make so that it will recalculate all 20 items in subform/orderdetail instead of deleting all item and re enter it again?

Sorry if my question wasn't clear and thank you for your help!

jonh
04-29-2015, 01:49 AM
Use an update query

(create > query design > close show table > click SQL > paste code > Run)

UPDATE
TblOrderdetail
INNER JOIN Tblorder
ON Tblorder.orderID = TblOrderdetail.OrderID
SET
total = [unitprice]*[totalsquare]

Sometimes it's better to always calculate values and not store them in a table at all.
So any update to totalsquare displays the new total automatically without needing to update TblOrderdetail.

SELECT
TblOrderdetail.orderdetailID,
TblOrderdetail.OrderID,
TblOrderdetail.itemname,
TblOrderdetail.unitprice,
[unitprice]*[totalsquare] AS totalprice
FROM
Tblorder
INNER JOIN TblOrderdetail

tonysi
04-29-2015, 12:49 PM
Hi

Thank you for your respond. I think I was not clear with my question.

I have attached sample database so it is easy to understand.

There 1 order there currently totalsquare = 50.
Total is calculate based on Unitprice * totalsquare