PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Insert New Row issue...doesn't work when the worksheet is protected

pattishort
05-12-2015, 06:21 AM
Hi All,
I'm new to this particular board. I have an issue with my code (and I'm still fairly new to VBA). I have a workbook that poses as a template for the engineers. I have 2 buttons: one to add a new row and one to delete active row. The requirement from the lead engineer is to have the worksheets protected to keep the other engineers from going rogue...he wants consistency. The following code works great for adding a new row and keeping the formula in cell A, BUT it doesn't work when the sheet is protected.

Code is as follows:

Sub InsertRowsAndFillFormulas(Optional vRows As Long = 0) ' row selection based on active cell
Dim x As Long
ActiveCell.EntireRow.Select 'So you do not have to preselect entire row
If vRows = 0 Then
vRows = Application.InputBox(prompt:= _
"How many rows do you want to add?", Title:="Add Rows", _
Default:=1, Type:=1) 'Default for 1 row, type 1 is number
If vRows = False Then Exit Sub
End If

Dim sht As Worksheet, shts() As String, i As Long
ReDim shts(1 To Worksheets.Application.ActiveWorkbook. _
Windows(1).SelectedSheets.Count)
i = 0
For Each sht In _
Application.ActiveWorkbook.Windows(1).SelectedSheets
Sheets(sht.Name).Select
i = i + 1
shts(i) = sht.Name

x = Sheets(sht.Name).UsedRange.Rows.Count 'lastcell fixup

Selection.Resize(rowsize:=2).Rows(2).EntireRow. _
Resize(rowsize:=vRows).Insert Shift:=xlDown

Selection.AutoFill Selection.Resize( _
rowsize:=vRows + 1), xlFillDefault

On Error Resume Next 'to handle no constants in range
' to remove the non-formulas
Selection.Offset(1).Resize(vRows).EntireRow. _
SpecialCells(xlConstants).ClearContents
Next sht
Worksheets(shts).Select
End Sub

Can someone help me with this?

SamT
05-12-2015, 08:49 AM
Bump for me

SamT
05-12-2015, 07:06 PM
Patti,
Welcome to VBAExpress, the best on the web.