PDA

View Full Version : Replacement of 1.text string with 2.text string-2.text string ends with character "("

Cubajz
05-22-2015, 09:15 AM
Hi, I need to make a macro for Word to make my work easier...I tryied a bit of work on my own but it seems itīs not working properly..Thank you for any help I am really a beginner.

Sub Makro1()
Selection.Copy
Windows("Dokument2.docx").Activate
Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting
With Selection.Find
.Text = Selection
End With
Selection.Find.Execute
Selection.MoveEndUntil (Cset = "(")
Selection.Copy
Windows("Dokument2.docx").Activate
Selection.PasteAndFormat (wdFormatOriginalFormatting)
End Sub

I attached two files as little example. Dokument1 technical norms are out-of-date, Dokument2 technical norms are up-to-date. I want those out-of-date norms to be replaced with up-to-date norms. :) I highlighted in text in both documents first and last technical norm - just to give you example of what I mean by technical norm. Thanks in advance.

gmayor
05-22-2015, 11:28 PM
The first issue to address is that the selected reference in document to be edited does not appear in the table, so it is never going to work. The problem is that there are assorted non-breaking spaces in both documents that interfere with the string matching. The suggested code addresses that issue and makes changes to both documents before string matching.

Put the path of 'Dokument2.docx' in the line

Set oSource = Documents.Open(Filename:="C:\Path\Dokument2.docx", _
AddToRecentFiles:=False, Visible:=False)

It doesn't matter whether that document is open or not when running the macro. Select the reference to be updated and run the macro. If the reference is found it will be updated according to the criteria you posted. If not found, you will see a warning message. Dokument2 is then closed without saving the changes incurred by the macro. The macro doesn't save or close 'Dokument1'

Sub Macro1()
'Macro by G Mayor 23 May 2015