PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Deleting all shapes with the same name with one click

RandomGerman
05-26-2015, 11:47 AM
Hi there,

I have built a bundle of macros creating shapes concerning the work status of my presentations, e.g., "To do", "Updated", "Work in progress", and defined a shape name ("Stickerxx") for all of them, because when I'm ready I want to get rid of them with one click for the whole presentation by using another macro.

The code for this deleting macro is:

Public Sub Callback006(control As IRibbonControl)
Dim sld As Slide
On Error Resume Next
For Each sld In ActivePresentation.Slides
sld.Shapes("Stickerxx").Delete
Next sld
End Sub

It works fine as long as there is only one of these shapes per slide. What do I have to add to delete a second one on the same slide at the same time? I guess it is quite a simple thing for experts, but as I am a beginner ...

John Wilson
05-27-2015, 03:32 AM
Allowing shapes to have the same name is a crazy MSFT "bug". Also as you have discovered only the first shape with that name is affected in code. To fix this you need to do this:

Public Sub Callback006(control As IRibbonControl)
Dim sld As Slide
Dim L As Long
On Error Resume Next
For Each sld In ActivePresentation.Slides
For L = sld.Shapes.Count To 1 Step -1
If sld.Shapes(L).Name = ("Stickerxx") Then sld.Shapes(L).Delete
Next L
Next sld
End Sub

RandomGerman
05-27-2015, 07:02 AM
Hi John,