PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Advancing cell referencing each month

worthm
05-28-2015, 08:48 AM
Hello,
I am using Office 2010 and I am not a programmer. I have created a dashboard and each month I have to move the cell referencing to focus on the most recently passed month. For example, on tab Rankings right now I have cells AG9:AG19, AH9:AH19, and AI9:AH19. They are all currently referencing cells on another sheet called Calls Common Area. That sheet has call data for each employee for each month. Right now, those previously mentioned calls are pointing at April's data but when June starts I need to move them to focus on the May data. Is there any way I can make it do this automatically?

For example, on tab Rankings I have cell AG9 referencing as such: ='Calls Common area'!J11

When June starts I'll need to move the referencing as such: ='Calls Common area'!J12

I ask because this happens in a lot of places on my dashboard and a VBA solution would save me a lot of work.

I've attached my dashboard. Thanks in advance for any help

mperrah
05-28-2015, 09:50 AM
In AE7 I put a data validation of the month names from CallsCommonarea C8:19 and named it ccMo,
I put the following formula in Rankings AG9 the copy down...

=INDEX(CallsCommon[#All],MATCH(Rankings!$AE$7,CallsCommon[[#All],[Month]],0),MATCH(Rankings!AE9,CallsCommon[#Headers],0))
now you can change the drop down month date and the values will adjust accordingly,
the nice thing of doing it this way, you can look at past months very easily

note: on the Rankings sheet you have David, on the calls Common area its Dave, change one so they match...

SamT
05-28-2015, 10:11 AM
Place this code in a standard Module.

In your Worksheet formulas, Use "strPreviousMonth" instead of a month name, or number String.

Function strPreviousMonth() As String
'Returns the name of the previous month as a string
' Use "M" to return a single digit String, "MM" for a 2 digit String,