PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: Exporting data from Excel into MS Project

DcD
09-19-2005, 11:14 PM
Hi.

Im a beginner to VBA in general and using it with Excel and this may seem a dumb question but here goes. http://vbaexpress.com/forum/images/smilies/102.gif

Is there a way that i can export data from a specific sheet within excel to MS Project? My excel workbook contains team information from which everybody is assigned tasks and they put a time on those tasks. What i want is to transfer the name of team member and the amount of time (calculated by start and end dates) worked into MS Project.

Can this be done? Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.

outrider
09-20-2005, 01:26 AM
Hi.

Im a beginner to VBA in general and using it with Excel and this may seem a dumb question but here goes. http://vbaexpress.com/forum/images/smilies/102.gif

Is there a way that i can export data from a specific sheet within excel to MS Project? My excel workbook contains team information from which everybody is assigned tasks and they put a time on those tasks. What i want is to transfer the name of team member and the amount of time (calculated by start and end dates) worked into MS Project.

There is the ability within MS Project to use import maps which I have always found very clumsy to use.
These days I simply get all the required data prepared in excel and then copy & paste directly into a specific page in MS Project. (My particular "project" uses over 20 moulding machines, 50 operators, assemblers, printers etc and works well simply using cut & paste)

MWE
09-20-2005, 08:27 AM
Hi.

There are several ways you could do this depending on how often you want it done and with what amount of automation:
1. manually
2. cut and paste from Excel to MSProject
3. using MSProjects import capability
3. with VBA procedures

#1 is obvious (and probably why you posted in the first place)