PDA

View Full Version : Catching the button label on a ribbon from a shape name

RandomGerman
06-15-2015, 02:44 PM
Hi all,

maybe I'm missing something obvious, but as I'm still a beginner and ran out of ideas, I hope, one of you is able to identify, what is going wrong in my actual project.

The idea of the project is, to give a user the chance to save some of his favorite creations to a hidden presentation with one click and get it back with another click on a another button. (Not the slide as a whole, but the objects he selected)

First piece of work was to create a macro, copying and saving the selected objects to a slide in a hidden presentation. This works well.

Second step was to create a macro copying these objects back to the active presentation. This works well, too.

Part 3 was to create a ribbon with two menus. An "Add to" menu with, e.g., 5 buttons, always button 1 related to slide 1 of the hidden presentation (copying the selection into it), button 2 related to slide 2 and so on. And the second menu is called "Insert", and the five buttons are related to the same slides, catching the content and copying it back to the active slide. This works well, too.

Well, of course, I don't want to force the user to remember forever what he added to the hidden slide 1, to slide 2, etc. He should have the chance to give things a name. So I created an input box to let him type a name. This name is saved as a name for the selected shapes (I mean the function "shape.Name"). Even this works well.

But now the ice is getting thin.

The idea to uses shape names came up, because I want to create dynamic buttons, catching the names with help of the getLabel function.

I created the following XML code - for testing purposes I only prepared the third button (Callback3 for adding to slide 3 of hidden presentation, Callback 8 for inserting from slide 3 of hidden presentation).