PDA

View Full Version : Search and match data from multiple workbooks

sheexin
06-15-2015, 09:02 PM
Hello!

I am really new with VBA and have been trying to solve this problem for ages, but to no avail. I use a Mac Excel 2011. Would appreciate any help or advice!

Essentially: I have a master folder of multiple excel files which have ID numbers, and various data such as Name, Description, Price and so on. The information is allocated in a table format, so column A has ID numbers, B has Names, etc. I would like to create a new excel file outside the folder which would allow me to key in ID numbers into a certain column. The VBA should match the ID with those in the master folder, and allow me to extract the corresponding and necessary information accordingly.

1. Take 1 ID at a time from the list in Book1.xls
2. Search the entire master folder, each file, column ____ until it finds a match.
3. Once it finds a match, I can select copy columns ____ from matching workbook to ____ of book1.xls.
4. Stop searching and go back to the list and get the next item to search again.

I have found someone with a similar problem before on this forum, but I can't seem to run the VBA. The thread can be found here: www(dot)vbaexpress(dot)com/forum/showthread.php?10772-Solved-Difficult-Macro-to-search-multiple-workbooks-for-a-match

and the code used:

Sub SearchandDostuff()

Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.DisplayAlerts = False

'dimension variables
Dim wb As Workbook, wbCheck As Workbook, strID As String
Dim wsTO As Worksheet, wsFROM As Worksheet, i As Long, pos As Long
Dim folder As String, file As String, Path As String
Dim c As Range, rngMatch As Range, a As Range, rngFrom As Range
Dim Matched As Boolean, ID As Range, counter As Integer

'folder to loop through
folder = BrowseForFolder

'set destination info
Set wsTO = Workbooks("Book1.xls").Sheets("Sheet1") '<<== name your file and sheet

'set the range list, can be re-written to Range("C2:C100") and set to fit