PDA

View Full Version : repetative code

Scanner
06-30-2015, 01:29 AM
I'm new at this vba coding.
I have a spreadsheet with 420 option buttons in groups of 6 ie group1 = optionbutton1, 71.141,211,281 and 351. Group2 = Optionbutton2,72,142,282 and 352. this is the code I have for changing the background colour based on the value of the button

Private Sub OptionButton1_Change()
With OptionButton1
If .Value Then
.BackColor = vbRed ' or RGB(255, 0, 0)
Else
.BackColor = vbGreen ' or RGB(0,0,0)
End If
End With
End Sub

I need to do this for all 420 option buttons, but this could take a while to replicate and stand more chance of missing entries.
is there a way of shortening this code or changing the code to apply to any option button on the worksheet to change to red on true or green when false.

p45cal
06-30-2015, 05:39 AM
Have a look at http://spreadsheetpage.com/index.php/tip/handle_multiple_userform_buttons_with_one_subroutine/
There a link to a companion file. It does this for multiple Command Buttons on a userform.
I attach this file, but modified to act on OptionButtons on a sheet.
At the moment it's quite specific about which sheet, but a tweak will allow it to work on any or many sheets.
It uses a class module.
The sub GetGoing needs to be run once each time the workbook is opened (it's called in the Workbook_Open event) to group the optionbuttons into a collection. If you reset the vba project/adjust the code, you'll need to run it again.

p45cal
06-30-2015, 05:51 AM
Oh yuk. You've crossposted:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/31134966/how-can-i-change-the-colour-of-mutiple-optionbuttons-with-as-little-code-as-poss

please Scanner, have a read of http://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184 and include links to all other cross posts in all the threads where you've cross posted. All forums have similar rules on cross posting.
Ultimately, it'll be for your benefit.

Paul_Hossler
06-30-2015, 08:10 AM