PDA

View Full Version : Implement outline numbering using a continuous form - beginner

axertis
07-10-2015, 01:39 PM
Hi, this is my first post.

Given a table in which records represent alarms, another table contains records in which represent immediate actions to be taken in the event of the alarm.

In a continuous form, I would like to provide the user the ability to sequence the steps as desired by using a promote, demote, insert-step-below and delete button.

In short, I want to emulate the way microsoft word does outline numbering.

I'm new at this, or at least it's been a long time since I've last programmed, so I'm very limited in what functions might help me accomplish this.

Originally, I had the following tables:

tblLOOP_DEF
TEMP_NAME (PK)

tblIA_LOOP_DEF
ID (PK)
TEMP_NAME(FK)
STEP_NUMBER (1)
STEP_INDENT_1 (1)
STEP_INDENT_2 (2)
STEP_INDENT_3 (1)
STEP_INDENT_4 (2)
STEP_INDENT_5 (3)
STEP_NUM_STR (calculated, from previous 6 fields 1.1.2.1.2.3)

I used the following expression for the calculation:

IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_1])," ","") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_2])," ","") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_3])," ","") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_4])," ","") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_5])," ","") & [STEP_NUMBER] & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_1]),"." & [STEP_INDENT_1],"") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_2]),"." & [STEP_INDENT_2],"") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_3]),"." & [STEP_INDENT_3],"") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_4]),"." & [STEP_INDENT_4],"") & IIf(Not IsNull([STEP_INDENT_5]),"." & [STEP_INDENT_5],"")

which helped get the indented look, to go with the mubering format.

STEP_DESCRITPTION (this is where the procedure steps are written)

I used the following expression for record level validation: