PDA

View Full Version : Exporting from Access into an Excel template

fetler
07-22-2015, 11:00 AM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Access and I'm currently tasked with building a database. One of the functions I'd like it to have is the ability to export data from a table, query or report (whichever is best) into an Excel spreadsheet. Thing is, the Excel spreadsheet is a template and I want to export the data from Access into a specific part of the spreadsheet. I've no idea how to do this.

For example, I want the following:
ID Number
Last Name
First Name

to export into a certain part of a spreadsheet template so that ID Number exports into cell A7, A8, A9, etc; Last Name into B7, B8, B9, etc; and First Name into C7, C8, C9, etc.

Does that make sense? Is it possible to do such a thing? I'm using Access 2013.

I don't want it to create a new worksheet in Excel. I want it to export into a specific part of an already-created worksheet. I've got a feeling it's not possible, but I'm hopeful one of you knows if it is possible.

Thanks,
Matt

jonh
07-23-2015, 02:23 AM
Excel > Data > From Access

HiTechCoach
07-25-2015, 11:05 AM
Thing is, the Excel spreadsheet is a template and I want to export the data from Access into a specific part of the spreadsheet

That does not sounds like a template. A template is used to create a new file each time.

I don't want it to create a new worksheet in Excel. I want it to export into a specific part of an already-created worksheet. I've got a feeling it's not possible, but I'm hopeful one of you knows if it is possible.

From that you are definitely not using a template or at least not what Excel terminology defines as template.

The good news is that it is possible to do what you want to do. If I were dong it I would use VBA code and Excel Automation to enter the data into the Workbook.