PDA

View Full Version : Macro / VBA help for a complete newbie, please? Auto-delete data/helper cell

M_Neal
07-24-2015, 02:27 AM
Hello all -

I've worked with Excel for a while but have never dipped my toe into programming. I was able to find some examples that I modified to accomplish what I've listed below, but I don't really know how to do anything else.

I am creating a spreadsheet to track/plot employee vacations. Each employee has a worksheet that tracks accrued vacation and has start/end dates. There is a master listing that shows start/end dates for each vacation and a chart of requested vacation, chart range is updated automatically based on min / max values for vacation dates.

What I have:
Code that automatically updates the chart based on requested vacation when the master list worksheet is made active.

Private Sub worksheet_Activate() Dim objCht As ChartObject
For Each objCht In ActiveSheet.ChartObjects
With objCht.Chart
' Value (X) Axis
With .Axes(xlValue)
.MaximumScale = ActiveSheet.Range("D24").Value
.MinimumScale = ActiveSheet.Range("D23").Value - 3

End With
End With
Next objCht
End Sub

I also have a macro in each employee sheet that automatically deletes old vacation information when the employee worksheet is made active.
Note: R14 is a hidden helper cell that returns "TRUE" if vacation ended more than 3 days ago. C1 through C5 is vacation request data.

Private Sub worksheet_Activate()
Dim target As String
target = Range("R14")
If target = "True" Then
Range("C1:C5").ClearContents
On Error Resume Next
End If
End Sub

What I want to do: