PDA

View Full Version : Find cells containing A two letter string by itself

TimeDivided
08-04-2015, 09:10 AM
Hi Folks,

I'm fairly new to VBA, and I'm trying to streamline a few processes at the office. I've perused the boards here (and the internet at large) for a while now and haven't found anything that quite solves what I am trying to do. I'd appreciate any insight at all, even if it's just a point in the right direction of where I should research further

I am sure there are some simple ways to do what I am trying to accomplish if I had the authority to edit the spreadsheet itself, but for reasons not worth getting into, I am unable to modify the layout of the excel sheet, and so am left the task of managing the insanity that I inherited (that never happens right?).

what I have is a travel schedule of sorts, with a non-normalized column in the spreadsheet that contains 3 or 4 different types of data (let's say town names, employee initials, and sometimes a time or other comments). This is part of a larger process I'm working on, but for now, what I want to do is find a way to get VBA to distinguish between the initials, and when the letters in those initials are part of a word. So for example Alex Cuelo's initials would be AC. I want to find all instances of "AC" in the column, but not "NYACK" or "ACTION" etc.

So im thinking something like:

If Activeworksheet.range("B1").value [code to describe "contains AC but only if it is not preceded by or followed by another letter or number"] Then
msgBox("Yes")
Else msgbox("No")
End If

Any help with exactly what code could solve the problem in the bracket would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

JKwan
08-04-2015, 09:49 AM
give this a try

Sub FindItem()
Dim Found As Range

Set Found = Find_All(Range("B1"), Range("C1:C1000"), xlValues, xlWhole, True)
If Not Found Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "found it - " & Range("B1")
Else
MsgBox "Not found - " & Range("B1")
End If
End Sub