PDA

View Full Version : Insertion point positioning in Word question

Retired
08-25-2015, 04:04 PM
I am updating an existing Word document that is in alphabetic sequence. It is basically an inventory of similar items that have single line entries. Beginning at the left margin I enter the information which is variable in length and depending on what the item is that I just typed I hit one of three function keys to invoke a basic macro that adds some additional information just to the right of what I had typed. Following the completion of that macro function I want to position the insertion point 11 positions from the right margin and I want to manually type the date this item was acquired in the mm/dd/yy format. I am a rank amateur when it comes to macro coding with VBA for Word. I know how to position the insertion point for the normal left, right, up and down functions. But, I can't figure out how to position the insertion point at the right margin. If positioning the insertion point at the right margin isn't possible, is it possible to obtain the numerical position of the current insertion point and subtract that numeric position from the numeric position of the right margin, assuming that numeric value is available, thus determining how many positions to the right that I must move the insertion point to begin typing the date in mm/dd/yy format 11 positions from the right margin?

Ideally if I can position the insertion point 11 positions to the left of the right margin I would just incorporate that coding into the existing three macros that I have already created.

Many thanks for any assistance that anyone can offer.

gmayor
08-26-2015, 01:14 AM
Set a right aligned tab at the right margin and add a tab after the text e.g.
Option Explicit

Sub AddADate()
Dim oDoc As Document
Dim oRng As Range
Dim lngRight As Long
'identify the document
Set oDoc = ActiveDocument
'Set a range to the paragraph the cursor is in
Set oRng = Selection.Paragraphs(1).Range