PDA

View Full Version : VBA - Delete Entire Row if Cell contains Text variable

09-16-2015, 07:42 AM
Hi everybody,

First of all I would like to say hi to the community. As you can see this is my first post... I am new to VBA (and any other programming language quite frankly). I look forward to being able to help fellow coders in their quest to their perfect Excel program once I develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of VBA.

But enough of chit chat :)

I searched through this website and others for a solution to my problem but all the VBA codes I found do not seem to solve my problem and I can't find out why...

Here is what I ought to do:
I have an excel file in which the cells in column A can take up to 10 Text variables (eg France, Italie, UK...). All the other columns contain data that I need but that are irrelevant to solving the problem I think.
I am trying to delete the entire row if the cell in A contains 7 out of the 10 variables (delete the row if A contains "France" or "Italie" or "UK").
Once the rows deleted I would like to delete 2 columns.

I have tried do some loop that I found online modifying where necessary but I obviously got it wrong.

I would be very grateful if someone could help me out :)

Have a nice afternoon.

p45cal
09-16-2015, 01:12 PM
Lots of questions - do these have to be an exact match of France or Italie for the whole cell, or part of the cell; can the cell contain more than one of these? which columns do you want to delete? etc. etc.
To prevent us guessing wrongly, perhaps upload a small workbook to the cloud and link to it or, if you can, attach it (you may not have enough posts to attach, I've forgotten).

mokhtar
09-17-2015, 12:57 PM
try

Sub sbDelete_Rows_IF_Cell_Cntains_String_Text_Value()

Dim LRow As Long
Dim X As Long

LRow = 10

For X = LRow To 1 Step -1
If Cells(X, "A") = "France" Or Cells(X, "A") = "Italie" Or Cells(X, "A") = "UK" Then ' You can change this text
Cells(X, "A").Resize(, 2).ClearContents
End If
Next