PDA

View Full Version : Using a variable value to select a range when creating a chart

DeucesAx
10-03-2015, 03:04 PM
Hello,
vba newbie here. I am trying to write a macro which will create multiple charts for me. I have two tables below each other with the same "x axis" values in column A. Columns B to I contain values I want to plot as different series in multiple charts. So chart one plots ("B7:B21") and ("B24:B48") as series, chart 2 plots ("c7:c21") and ("c24:c48") etc
I successfully wrote a macro to create and label the chart. Now I want to create a loop so that all charts are created. In a first step I want to replace "("B7:B21")" with a variable column letter.
I tried replacing:

ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=Range("B7:B21")
with

Dim col As String
col = B
[...]
ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=Range(col & "7:" col & "21")

This did not give me an error, but the selected range was all wrong, Excel actually created 16 series or so.

All help is appriciated.

Domenic
10-03-2015, 03:26 PM
Try...

Dim col As String

col = "B"

ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=Range(col & "7:" & col & "21")

Hope this helps!

SamT
10-03-2015, 03:29 PM
You're missing an ampersand after the "7:" string.

You can also use

Col = 2
For Cht = 1 to Charts.Count - 1 Step 2
Charts(cht).SetSourceData Source:=Range(Cells(7, Col), Cells(21, Col))
Charts(Cht + 1).SetSourceData Source:=Range(Cells24, Col), Cells(48, Col))
Col = Col + 1
Next Cht

There is no guarantee that Excel has the Chart(s) in the Charts Collection in the order you want.

Dim MyChartsInOrder As Collection
'Add Charts in the order desired, Column B pair, Column C pair. Colum D pair, etc
With MyChartsInOrder
.Add 'first chart that uses Column B
.Add 'next chart. that uses "B"
'Etc
End With

DeucesAx
10-03-2015, 03:55 PM
Thanks to both of you. I actually had the ampersand, not sure what happend. I did not however have the "" when I assigned B to the variable col. Works perfect now.