PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] VBA-highlight cell(s) in a column range if empty or greater than a value

mcinvalek
11-12-2015, 09:30 AM
I am using Excel 2010 (x32). I am new to VBA and trying to create some VBA conditional formatting to be used as data validation. The first column is a data column. I want to fill a cell red if it is empty or orange if the cell is greater than a value in cell B4 on another sheet named "Instructions". I have created the following but it is not working. Any suggestions? Also, instead of the named range of "A2:A2552", can I use a do until or do while loop to accomodate a growing range?

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim icolor As Integer
Dim cell As Range

If Intersect(Target, Range("A2:A2552")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

For Each cell In Target
icolor = 0
Select Case cell
Case Is > Range("Instructions!B4"): icolor = 3
Case "": icolor = 45
End Select

If icolor <> 0 Then cell.Interior.ColorIndex = icolor
Next cell
End Sub

SamT
11-12-2015, 10:23 AM
Two options

'Assumes all changes are by the user entering a value

If Intersect(Target, Range("A:A")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub 'Prevents running on simultaneous changes

With Target
Select Case .Value
Case Is > Sheets("Instructions").Range("B4")
.Interior.ColorIndex = 3
Case "": .Interior.ColorIndex = 45
End Select
End With
End Sub

Dim Cel As Range 'Cell is a keyword, do not use Keywords as variables
Dim DataRange As Range
Dim Maxx As Double

Set DataRange = Intersect(Target, Range("A:A"))
If DataRange Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

Maxx = Sheets("Instructions").Range("B4").Value
'Why look it up more than once

For Each Cel In DataRange
With Cel
Select Case .Value
Case Is > Maxx
.Interior.ColorIndex = 3
Case "": .Interior.ColorIndex = 45
End Select
End With
Next Cel
End Sub

mcinvalek
11-17-2015, 11:02 AM