PDA

View Full Version : Open Excel File From Access

MGaddict
11-18-2015, 03:48 PM
So I'm trying to build a project and learning VBA from tutorials online. I did a lot of C++ back in the 90s, and still do on Arduino and what not. Otherwise, the only programming I've been doing for the last 10 years has been scripting in Linux. VBA in Access, needless to say, is outside my comfort zone.
I keep trying to use code from different tutorials and what not to figure this thing out, however, I keep running into the fact that apparently a lot of changes came with Access 2010 and even more with 2013. The vast majority of the tutorials online go back to 2003 - 2007 and that code is irrelevant.

I think my version numbers are all outdated and I can't figure out where to find the correct ones. I'm trying to open an xlsx file built in Office 365. The file name is provided by the aptly named FileName variable which is a string. I odn't get any errors, it compiles fine, but it just hangs on this for 5 minutes and does nothing. So I'm guessing I've got the Provider and Extended Properties all screwed up somehow with outdated version numbers.

Dim TeacherFile As New ADODB.Connection 'This somhow refrences where the recordset is coming from
Dim TeacherInput As New ADODB.Recordset 'This is the recordset we are going to be using

TeacherFile.Open "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & FileName & "Extended Properties=""Excel 15.0;HDR=Yes"";"
Set TeacherInput = TeacherFile.Execute("[InputOfficeHours$A10:H63]")

So the FileName is a string. I don't totally get what's going on, but

jonh
11-18-2015, 04:18 PM
Not sure why you felt the need to mark the other thread solved when it wasn't and start a new one.

Connection strings are a complete mystery to me and I've been programming databases for 20+ years.

Have a look here...
http://www.connectionstrings.com/

with regards to your previous thread

FileName = Application.GetOpenFilename _
(Title:="Please choose a file to open", _