PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] New to VBA, Need help outputting a list of the TextBox names from my 1st project

Tom Murphy
11-26-2015, 11:26 AM
Hi everyone, I am very new to working with VBA in Excel. Excel version is 2010 & 2013. Win 7 Pro. I have a spreadsheet to gather the data I need for my work in networking. The spreadsheet has over 55 columns to place each data element. I have created a userform to enter the data. I created a header row in the spreadsheet and named the columns related to the data they will contain. I named the TextBoxes with the same names as the columns. There are currently 55 text boxes on the userform. I am looking for a way to loop through all the textboxes on the userform and output the name of each textbox to a Notepad text file. The purpose is to check that I have the correct names as I code the userform to transfer the data to the spreadsheet. I have been able to get the code to create a .txt file in the correct folder in my documents but it is empty. Is this the best way to track the textboxes you create during a project or is there another way?

Thanks in advance for any help. I will post the code I have so far as soon as I can.

Regards,

Tom

mikerickson
11-26-2015, 11:44 AM
Perhaps some version of

dim OneHeader as Variant

For each oneHeader in Array("Name", "Address", "Phone")
With Userform1.Controls("tbx" & oneHeader)
Rem do something
End With
Next

Your question is real generic and so is my response. But the main point is the use of the Controls collection and building a TextBox's name as a string index for that collection.

SamT
11-26-2015, 01:10 PM
Output directly to the Spreadsheet itself. When done testing, delete the data on the Sheet.

There are numerous ways to loop thru Controls. Mike's Array method is very versatile. As your form gets updated, merely changing the name in the array updates the I/O process. Moving a Column merely means moving the name in the Array.