PDA

View Full Version : Help with a simple VBA

Kakzie
11-30-2015, 12:53 PM
Hi all,

I am a complete beginner so please bear with me
Ive just started computer science and am stuck with one of my assignments
The exercise I struggle with is below.
I assume I must ask the user for the different values and make an "IF statement" for the last part calculating the bonus according to the number of hours worked but I don't know how to put the equation for the number of hours (overtime - (2/3)*Absent) into the macro.

Exercise:
Write VBA macro to read a employee name (NAME), overtime hours worked (OVERTIME), hours absent (ABSENT) and determine bonus payment (PAYMENT).

Use the following table to calculate bonus payment

Bonus Schedule

OVERTIME – (2/3)*ABSENT

Bonus Paid

>40 hours
>30 but £ 40 hours
>20 but £ 30 hours
>10 but £ 20 hours
£ 10 hours

$50
$40
$30
$20
$10

please, help! many thanks in advance

SamT
11-30-2015, 03:02 PM
You can use InputBoxes in the Code to get the information, but it is a clunky user interface.

You can use Cells on the Worksheet for user input and trigger the code when all input cells are not empty. See the Worksheet Change Event. or you can insert a CommandButton Control in the worksheet that the User can Click.

To get an A+, you can use a VBA UserForm with UserForm Controls to get the input, trigger the calculating code, and display the results. IMO, this is the most User Friendly and professional way.

If X = BonusHours

X = OTHours - 2 * AbsentHours / 3
Then you could use a Select Case to select the Bonus Value and display it in a MsgBox.

Note that a Select Case is similar to an If... Then... IfElse... Statement in that when one condition is met, none of the others are checked, so
>40
>30
>0
Will only return one result

OR, you could use a User Defined Function to return the Bonus Value

Bonus = GetBonus(BonusHours)