PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Help Creating a Macro

tstan
12-07-2015, 01:04 PM
Hello,
I am new to creating macros and need help. I want to create a macro that will streamline the copying and pasting I do between documents. Specifically, I need the macro to do the following:

Copy text I have selected in one document (for this example, let's call it "Document A")
Activate the second document ("Document B") and perform a search of the copied text
Select the first instance of the copied text (which happens to be listed in the first column of a table)
Tab (or move) to the adjacent cell and make a selection
Copy the selection
Activate Document A
Add a comment to the selected word from the first step
Paste the copied text from Document B in the Comment bubble

I am struggling with getting the copied text from the Clipboard. I have read that I need to activate the available reference, "Microsoft Forms 2.0 Object Library," which I have done, and use the following code:

Dim DataObj As MSForms.DataObject
Set DataObj = New MSForms.DataObject
DataObj.GetFromClipboard

strPaste = DataObj.GetText(1)
I'm not exactly sure how to use the above code with what I have created below. Can someone please help?

Sub CopyandPasteMacro()
If Documents.Count <> 2 Then
MsgBox "You must have two documents open!"
Exit Sub
End If

Set ThisDoc = ActiveDocument

If ThisDoc = Documents(1) Then
Set OtherDoc = Documents(2)
Else
Set OtherDoc = Documents(1)
End If

OtherDoc.Activate
Selection.MoveRight Unit:=wdCell
Selection.Copy
ThisDoc.Activate
Selection.Comments.Add Range:=Selection.Range
Selection.PasteAndFormat (wdFormatOriginalFormatting)

Set ThisDoc = Nothing
Set OtherDoc = Nothing

End Sub

gmaxey
12-07-2015, 02:29 PM
Something like this

Sub ScratchMacro()
'A basic Word macro coded by Greg Maxey
Dim oRng As Range
Dim oDoc1 As Document, oDoc2 As Document
Dim strText As String
Dim strComment As String