PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Excel 2010 VBA - Issues with Drop Down box with Table Interface

b4tmast
12-24-2015, 11:54 PM
First, I am a complete newbie still working on my very first VBA project. Any and all help will be truly appreciated. I have created a test app to be able to utilize some basic features. My current problem is that when the end user will use the drop down box, unless they leave (LostFocus) the drop down box it won't update the other fields. I initially tried using Change, but, that prevents me from being able to edit / save the fields. I currently have arrows that allow a user to go to First, Last, Previous and Next Fields. But, want them to be able to use the drop down box as a quick method to get to a record. Though this is a minor issue, it kind of defeats the purpose of having the drop down box. Any ideas as to how / what code I could use that would allow the updating of the other data fields without having to exit (LostFocus)? Thanks in advance and Happy Holiday to one and all.

b4tmast
12-24-2015, 11:59 PM
Oh, to get the form to work, click the 'Cancel' button... Still working on that issue.

SamT
12-25-2015, 09:05 AM
BeforeUpdate Event or AfterUpdate Event..

BeforeUpdate has a way to keep Focus on the control

b4tmast
12-25-2015, 10:15 AM
I have tried both and the fields do not update. Perhaps I'm using it wrong. With LostFocus, at least when I leave the dropdown box, the other fields get updated. What am i doing wrong?

Private Sub cmbName_BeforeUpdate() 'LostFocus()
'*********************

On Error GoTo MyErrorHandler:
Call SortTable
Call FindRecorNumber
'Puts Vlookup results in respective cells

'If cmbName = Change Then

txtCity.Value = WorksheetFunction.VLookup(cmbName.Value, Range("TestTable"), 2, False)
cmbState.Value = WorksheetFunction.VLookup(cmbName.Value, Range("TestTable"), 3, False)
Range("P4") = WorksheetFunction.VLookup(cmbName.Value, Range("TestTable"), 4, False)