PDA

View Full Version : Desperately lost in VBA code

excilcius
12-29-2015, 05:47 PM
Hello everyone!

I am not a regular Excel/VBA user, but am tasked with doing a monumental script that I hope someone can help me with. I have spent hours going over VBA sites and Youtube videos, but not one single site has what I need, and I am not advanced enough to edit the existing code. Maybe someone would be kind enough to point me to tutorials, or perhaps even help me out :)

In exchange, I would be happy to help anyone get started training themselves using neurofeedback (Because I'm new, I can't post links, but check out the research summary paper by Corydon Hammond called "What is neurofeedback: an update")

I am an EEG biofeedback hobbyist who needs to write a script to do several things with EEG data:

1) Click a button to open up several tab-delimited EEG data text files that contain specific phrases in the file name. I would like all of the tab-delimited files imported into the same worksheet that's open, one after the other, and then I would like to rename various fields in each column depending on the name of the file being imported. The closest thing I've found is this:

Because I'm new, I can't post links, but you can search Google for: importing multiple files to single workbook. The script comes up first.

2) I would then like to import a worksheet (or perhaps just start off with it open) I've created into a new tab that that calculates Z-Scores in order to reject outlier EEG data that is too large, then recalculate the mean EEG amplitude score after rejecting the outliers.

I realize this is a tall order, and while I won't ever use VBA again, I can commit to learning this... just will be a big pain for such a small project. Any ideas where to go to learn the skills I need for this? I programmed a little bit in PERL ten years ago, so it's not completely foreign to me...just very overwhelming haha. :)

SamT
12-29-2015, 08:16 PM